A Work Of Heart


For his 5th release, rap afficianado Ty takes us on a journey of works from his heart. He takes us on a heartfelft and nostalgic trip through his childhood neighbourhood Brixton in answer to would-be gentrifiers of the area, reminding us of the community that makes a great neighbourhood. He exposes a rare vulnerability in this form of music by working through issues over the course of the album of poverty, depression, racism and family. This is balanced by the championing of hiphop, insights to the creative process and philosophical musings on life. There’s even an imagined film soundtrack.

The album, entitled A Work Of Heart is produced and predominantly written by Ty. The sounds are a mixture of crisp, bouncy production, live instrumentation and vivid and entertaining lyrics. Featured guests include OG Rootz (formerly Durrty Goodz), Tall Black Guy, John Robinson, Wayne Francis (United Vibrations) and the legendary Umar Bin Hassan of the Last Poets to name a few. Of the album Ty says, this is my life work, it’s how I feel…I want to upgrade the view of hip hop.

This jazz-infused hip hop album is simultaneously uplifiting and thought-provoking.

(Six panel digipack CD edition)

01. Workingtro

02. Eyes Open Ft. Deborah Jordan & Og Rootz

03. Somehow Somewhere Someway Ft. Umar Bin Hassan

04. Brixton Baby Ft. Mpho

05. Work Of Heart

06. Marathon Ft. Ladonna Harley-Peters

07. No Place To Run Ft. Jason Yarde & Julie Dexter

08. You Gave Me Ft. Lasharvu

09. Harpers Revenge! Ft. Wayne Francis & Phillip Harper

10. Folks Say People Say

11. World Of Flaws Ft. John Robinson

12. Raindrops

13. The Raspberry Ft. N’Fa Jones & Remi

14. As The Smoke Clears Ft. Malik Md7 & Randolph Matthews


Shopping cart

No products in the cart.