Children of Zeus

Excess Baggage

First Word Records
Format: ,

The Zeus pickney return with a 7-track collection of tracks, five appearing on vinyl for the very first time, along with a double-header of remixes from Zed Bias, previously only released on a limited edition 10″. This is an assortment of cuts plucked from the trio of full-length releases from 2017-2018; the afore-mentioned LP Travel Light, the loosies compilation The Story So Far, and the mixtape The Winter Tape.

An edit of the feel-good, heads-down bruk track Vibrations sets off the EP, produced by K15, before we get into Zed Bias’ take on proceedings with his UKG dancefloor smasher from late last Summer, followed by Zed’s heavy remix of the first single from Travel Light, Slow Down.

The flipside begins with two of the standout cuts from The Winter Tape; 10 Toes features Mancunian newcomer HMD on the hook, whilst Konny Kon & Tyler Daley trade bars on some future soul sci-fi boom bap. This is followed by the ethereal R&B stepper Ghost; a bit of a fabled Tyler Daley fan favourite from the archives.

Next, the track that effectively bridged the gap from The Story So Far to Travel Light, the Sunset Version of the anthemic No Sunshine Tomorrow, before we get into the killer quiet storm closer, I Want You, aka the slow jam that wasn’t on the original Story So Far vinyl EP.

This EP is a snapshot of Tyler & Konny’s various projects over the course of the past year or so, and exemplifies the eclectic approach they’ve become known for within their own unique pocket of Hip Hop and Soul, which has rightly seen Children of Zeus garner acclaim from a variety of DJs, fans and artists alike. New music ready when it’s ready, but for now, here’s another essential piece of Zeus wax for the collection.

A1. Vibrations (Short Edit)

A2. Vibrations (Zed Bias Remix)

A3. Slow Down (Zed Bias Remix)

B1. 10 Toes ft. HMD

B2. Ghost

B3. No Sunshine Tomorrow (Sunset Version)

B4. I Want You


Out of stock

Shopping cart

No products in the cart.